The Muny in St. Louis -- 100th Season

Started by Bookman George, Jun 09, 2018, 02:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bookman George

Not a production that I am in, but an announcement of sorts  ---

The Muny, the oldest and largest summer outdoor musical theater in the nation, opens its 100th season on Monday with a production of Jerome Robbins Broadway. I believe it is the first production since the touring company closed in 1991. It is a perfect opening for this centennial season, since every show included in the revue has played the Muny at least once.

I have been working as a volunteer in the Muny's archives for about four years. All our efforts have begun to pay off. It has long been possible on the website to get a list of all the shows that have played at the Muny and also to check a performer's name as see what shows he or she appeared in. But you couldn't see who played Dolly or Tevye in a particular production. Now you can. Check out the Muny's website, Muny.org. If you click on Shows and then on Archive, you can now see pages from the program for every Muny production for the past 99 years.  We are still working on adding photos of shows, bios and photos of performers, etc. Lots of work remains to be done. But this is a tremendous start to making a much better website.

And today a large and impressive exhibit called "Muny Memories: 100 Seasons On Stage" opens at the Missouri History Museum and runs for one year. Although the Museum staff put the exhibit together, we Muny archivists provided a lot of the materials. You can see more about the exhibit at http://mohistory.org/exhibits/muny-memories/

KathyB